I had a ticket for the performance of Don Giovanni on the 19th, but it was cancelled because of the Covid-19 pandemic, as are all events. However, the recorded performance of March 10th is shown online for a time at Stage24, and I watched it at the same time as I would have been at the opera normally.

The Helsingin Sanomat review of the direction by Jussi Nikkilä was very bad, but I found it amusing and entertaining. Visually it is impressive, although as a whole the experience is thin compared to a live performance, but maybe I'll see it live in the future. The costumes are a strange hotchpotch of styles from renaissance to the late 20th century - probably saying something about the timelessness of the phenomenon. At the same time it is easy to see the story in the framework of late 18th century ideas. Leporello (Markus Suihkonen) was nice - I have quite a crush on him. Unfortunately the end was unconvincing - and I don't mean the original supernatural elements, but Nikkinen's more rational Orient Express solution. Also Tuomas Pursio's (Don Giovanni) acting in the latter half was amateurish.

As a whole it was a good experience, and now it feels almost as if I had been at the opera. Well, about 35%.