Last week I saw at last the Swan Lake that I was due to see in January, probably my fifth in all. Masks were still required at the Opera House, although their use has largely been ended even in Helsinki.

The new choreography by the Australian David McAllister was very traditional and nice. I particularly liked the sets and costumes by Gabriela Týlešová, a nice mix of fairytale and realism with pretty and elegant colours. The bustles of the senior ladies placed the events in the 1870s. Altogether a pleasant experience, which unfortunately I can't recommend as it is completely sold out.

Watching it I was happy, but somehow, especially in hindsight, I would have wished for something wilder and more intense, less well-mannered, and well, nice.

After the first act I discovered I was very thirsty, and in spite of the inconvenience of the mask I decided to get a small bottle of cider, but "Oh sorry, we haven't updated the menu yet," and so I was persuaded to buy a glass of sparkling wine instead.