To complete my list of personal favourites with foreign films, I enjoyed an embarras de richesse, but these are the ones that occurred to my mind first, spontaneously and immediately.

  1. Akira Kurosawa: Shichinin no samurai (The Seven Samurai, 1954): Perfect.
  2. Alfred Hitchcock: The Rear Window (1954): The summer atmosphere is delightful. I suppose there might be also something more personal here, in watching life from the outside.
  3. Wolfgang Petersen: Das Boot (The Boat, 1981): For those who like (?) claustrophobia and tense waiting in silence.
  4. Billy Wilder: Some Like it Hot (1959): It's still funny, although soon nobody will see anything strange in the idea of Osgood and Daphne getting married, or that smoking might be a worse hindrance to it than both being male.
  5. Kenji Mizoguchi: Saikaku ichidai onna (The Diary of Oharu, 1952): I spent more than thirty years wondering about several evocative scenes that I remembered having seen in some Japanese film/films, and it wasn't until I saw 'Oharu' again that I realised where they all came from.
  6. Masaki Kobayashi: Kaidan (Ghost Story, 1964): Especially the story of Earless Hoichi is unforgettable.
  7. Stephen Frears: Dangerous Liaisons (1988): An excellent film that is tame nonetheless compared with the novel that still shocks after more than 200 years. Or maybe I just need to have it in print to understand?
  8. Alfred Hitchcock: Psycho (1960): I wonder, would it still frighten?
  9. Ingmar Bergman: Det sjunde inseglet (The Seventh Seal, 1957) made an impression when I saw it for the first time, in my teens.
  10. Ridley Scott: Alien (1979) is not to be recommended for women fearing pregnancy and childbirth.

I could easily expand this to Top Twenty, but I'll leave it as it is.