Last week I saw Benjamin Britten's Billy Budd, directed by Annelise Miskimmon. The previous live opera I'd seen was incredible enough Das Rheingold in September 2019. It felt good to hear live singing after such a long time, although I must admit I didn't much care for the music; as far as I am concerned it worked better as drama. It was moved forward in time, as is common, from 1797 to 1940s, and from a sailing to ship to a submarine, quite unnecessarily. Still, it worked well enough, and it was also thought-provoking. I quite enjoyed the experience, although I would have preferred something more refreshing to break my opera fast.

In the tram on my way home a boy - a young man with brown eyes - seeing the programme leaflet in my hands, asked if I had liked it. I nodded eagerly. He said he had taken part in the performance. So?