At last I filled a major gap in my education, one which had actually troubled me: I saw Tosca, a new version by Christof Loy. It may sound incredible, but I had failed to see the older one although it ran for twenty years at the Finnish National Opera, in spite of having occasionally planned to go to see it.

It has had fairly good reviews, although I mostly agree with a Finnish music blogger who calls it colourless and sterile. As a whole there was nothing wrong, and it had its moments, but somehow it didn't quite take flight. Apparently Aušrinė Stundytė, Floria Tosca, wasn't at her best at the opening night, but yesterday there was nothing wrong with her voice, and all the others were good as well.

I wondered about the costumes; in the first act they are sort of everyday 1950s style, then Scarpia and his men appear in early 19th century style, and finally there are some people in mid-18th century dress interspersed. It is partly explained by Christoph Loy who says that Cavaradossi represents the timeless and free non-feudal system and Scarpia, played by the excellent Tuomas Pursio, the feudal and aristocratic way of life, although not quite... And does Tosca represent the hysterical female, as she seems, in this interpretation?

Fortunately the music was enjoyable, and E lucevan le stelle (sung by Andrea Caré) was lovely as always.