The Night of the Arts is an annual event of the Helsinki Festival that was arranged for the first time in 1989, and now many towns have a Night of the Arts, even Lahti. Can it be that I have never written about it, although I have been mostly a faithful participant since the beginning? It has given me many unforgettable experiences, from Latex Willer playing on the street in the dawn of times to the French Plasticiens Volants' Perle show in the Senate Square 2009.

This year it was on Thursday, the 23rd of August. I had very modest plans. Originally I thought I might watch a rehearsal at the Ryhmäteatteri theatre, but I went instead to see the Georgia O'Keeffe exhibition at the Helsinki Art Museum - entrance was free. I had great expectations but was slightly disappointed. I did like some of her flowers, and other paintings depicting simple solid objects, but not the landscapes. The sculptures were also interesting - and why not, after all I do like solidity in art.

Then I intended to go home, but made a detour to the Music Centre - I missed the guided tour, but found my way accidentally to the Black Box where
The Most Beautiful Sound of Helsinki sound and video installation by Päivi Hakala was being played. Most diverse people were making different sounds with their mouths on five screens; there was also a silent guide dog with an intense gaze. It was delightful.

And then I went home - passing ex-president Martti Ahtisaari with his wife walking towards the Music Centre - and bought fudge doughnuts on the way to take to Lahti.