At my grandmother's there was a book of folk tales retold by Joel Lehtonen, called Tarulinna (1906). Here's my childhood favourite in my translation:

*

The Girl Who Grew Up in a Barrel

Once upon a time a stepmother had raised a girl in a barrel and had given her food through the plug hole, and when the stepmother died, the father let the girl out of the barrel and sent her to the world on business. "Go, dear girl", said the father, "go borrow seed grain from our neighbour". The girl went to the neighbour. There the neighbour was striding on bare soil and sowing and sowing golden grain from his hand. "Father sent to borrow seed grain!" said the girl to the sower. The sower replied: "I shall lend with pleasure, but first you must bless my sowing." The girl blessed and said: "May each grain yield a grain!" Then the sower got angry and barked at the girl: "Because you make my field worse, I won't lend any seed grain." And he didn't. Well, the girl went home feeling bad and stated to her father: "The sower did not borrow grain, although I blessed his sowing." "How did you bless?" asked father. The girl answered: "May each grain yield a grain!" "Oh poor girl!" sighed the father. "You should have said: give, oh God, hundredfold!" The girl reflected: "I shall remember to say so in the future!"

Then the manor was burning in the village, and lots of people were there putting out the fire. Even the girl who had been raised in a barrel ran there to help, and when she came to the hapless master, whose manor was just burning, she shouted: "Give, oh God, hundredfold!" Then the people started to scold the girl: "Oh, are you praying for the house to burn down hundredfold! March home at once!" The girl went home in agony and said to her father: "I was driven away when I said: give, oh God, hundredfold!" "Oh dear girl!" sighed the father. "You should have taken some water and tossed it into the fire." "I shall remember that in the future!" said the girl.

Then the girl went visiting on Sunday and came to a cabin, where two old grannies were reading a thick book. Well, the girl took water from a tub with a scoop and tossed it on the readers. The readers jumped up, grabbed the girl by the hair and took her out. The girl went home weeping and said to her father: "When I went on a visit, I came into a cabin, where two old grannies were reading a thick book, and I took water from a tub with a scoop and threw it on them, but they pulled my hair and pushed me out." "Oh my dear girl!" answered father. "You should have sat nicely next to them and listened." "Well, I shall remember that in the future!" assured the girl.

Then the girl strode along a road. Then there was a big pack of dogs brawling at the crossroads, and the girl went and sat on the road in the middle of the fighting pack of dogs. The dogs tore the poor girl badly. The girl went to her father all ragged and said: "There were dogs fighting on the road, and I sat next to them and started to listen nicely, but they bit me." "My, oh my, poor girl!" lamented the father. "You should have taken a big baton and hit the nasty creatures." "I shall do so in the future!" threatened the girl.

Then a funeral procession went to graveyard along a road decorated with fir twigs. But the girl took a big baton from the yard and started to flail the mourners. Well, didn't she then get hit with the same baton with which she flailed the others. "I'm not good for anything. A funeral procession went past here, and I took a big baton and started to thrash the people. But the people took the baton from my hand and they seem to have boken my leg, too." "Well why don't you finally get wiser!" scolded the father. "You should have said to the mourners: may heaven recover the soul!" "I shall say so in the future!" assured the girl.

Then the girl went into the forest, where a strange man was hanging an angry dog. Well, the girl at once repeats in delight: "May heaven recover the soul!" "Are you blaspheming, what!" shouted the strange man. "A dog doesn't have a soul!" – And the man hit the girl. "The girl went home weeping and told her father her troubles. "Don't you ever do such naughtiness again!" scolded the father severely. "You should have said: break the neck, legs into river!" "Well, I shall remember this finally!" assured the girl.

It was the governor's wedding, and the wedding guests came out of the church. The girl ran to the wedded couple, curtseyed deeply and said: "Break the neck, legs into river!" The governor reared up. He said to the girl: "Oh, you threaten to break my neck, do you! Let's put the girl in stocks to learn to speak more wisely!" And the girl was put in the church porch in stocks. There she sat sad as a duck shot in the wing and wept, when the guests marched to the wedding party.

*

 

No cinderellas for me, this is the story I read time after time. It is funny, after all, isn't it? Isn't it?