I wonder when Cabaret was selected for this year's musical in Lahti City Theatre: before or after the general election? Quite topical - maybe even pointing with a finger a bit too much?

Jorma Uotinen was Master of Ceremonies - born for the role, one could say. Although I find he enjoys performing, and being Jorma Uotinen, a little too much, except when he dances. Mother (age 86) is his fan, and of course she was eager to go to the theatre again, although every year she says it's her last time.

I, in my usual fashion, paid attention to the inessentials: floor material, how handy a revolving stage is, how microphones flatten sound, and what dancers think... as usual far too many showed their concentration, but this time I noticed one with a 'I know something you don't' look in her eyes, and soon enough realized she was a man (Riku Lehtopolku, co-choreographer with Jorma Uotinen).

As a whole it was enjoyable, I'd like to say "close to perfect," unfortunately I can't, but one almost could catch the feeling of the times. I doubt if it is possible to understand today the depth of disillusionment felt after the Great War discrediting old values even among the winners - not to mention losers like Germany - that formed the foundation of the Roaring Twenties. It is easier to understand, at least intellectually, how the Treaty of Versailles lead to the Thirties and Fourties...

Strangely enough, I think one could produce, changing only the emphasis - not even the ending - a Cabaret with a happy end. But this wasn't like that - this stressed the tragedy. The audience left in a thoughtful mood.