I noticed only yesterday that my one and only family heirloom has been stolen. It is an old ring that my grandmother's uncle gave her as a sign of reconciliation in the 1950s. In the 1980s she gave it to me, and now it's gone: sold or melted down - a piece of family history.

onni_sedan_sormus-normal.jpg

I can only assume that it was stolen by some of the renovation workers. It's probably beyond all reason to even imagine it could ever be returned to me, after all it may have been stolen any time between January 2013 and July 2014. However, I reported an offence. I can only wish I had been more careful, but I assumed it was in Lahti, and so it was left with my worthless trinkets in the empty flat, if in a locked cupboard - which was open when I returned. Although regrets are useless, I feel terrible.