I haven't felt very inspired to write anything much this autumn, but here are a few short comments about two performances.

First, The Triple Bill: World Wide Dance in October was OK, but nothing world shattering. Heatscape by Justin Peck was peppy American and fun to watch. I liked he music by Bohuslav Martinú. Earthborn by Fei Bo was too long, not boring, but definitely too long. And finally Dust by Akram Khan: At last something with substance! For some strange reason I associated it with Autralia and suffering instead of WW1.

And finally last week I saw CircOpera 2.0: I didn't watch the previous one, but this was better than I expected as a non-lover of circus, although not as good as the review in Helsingin Sanomat claimed. It was good and entertaining but not magical. Everything flowed very naturally and fitted well together.

It started with an interesting video: at first an outline of a head and a neck with time spreading to a wide view of bodies moving in space to the music of Richard Strauss. Other memorable bits were the cigar box juggling to Pizzicato-Polka which was pure joy, the clever "vanishing cabinets" to Là ci darem la mano from Don Giovanni, and the very appropriate wheel of death to Montagues and Capulets by Sergei Prokofiev. However, it did not change my opinion of circus.

circopera_2_0.jpg

Before the show